December 19, 2012

Announcing the 2013 Sustainable Transport Award Finalists

97. STA-image_all

The Steering Committee of the 2013 Sustainable Transport Award is pleased to announce five finalists to be recognized for implementation of visionary achievements in sustainable transportation and urban livability in 2012: Bremen, Germany; Lviv, Ukraine; Mexico City, Mexico; Rio de Janeiro, Brazil; and Rosario, Argentina.

Established in 2005, the Sustainable Transport Award is presented to a city each year that has demonstrated profound leadership and exceptional vision sustainable transportation. These cities have put into practice innovative transport strategies which fight pollution and climate change, enhance the sustainability and livability of communities, improve safety and access for bicyclists and pedestrians, and increase transport efficiency and accessibility for all.

The STA finalists are chosen by a Committee that includes the most respected experts and organizations working internationally on sustainable transportation. Committee members include:

• Institute for Transportation and Development Policy
• EMBARQ, The World Resources Institute Center for Sustainable Transport
• GIZ (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit)
• Clean Air Asia
• Clean Air Institute
• United Nations Centre for Regional Development (UNCRD)
• Transport Research Laboratory
• EcoMobility, Local Governments for Sustainability (ICLEI)
• Transport Research Board’s Transportation in the Developing Countries Committee (ABE90)

The Sustainable Transport Award winner will be announced at an award ceremony on January 15, 2013 during the annual meeting of the Transportation Research Board, one of six major divisions of the U.S. National Research Council. ITDP board president Enrique Peñalosa, former mayor of Bogotá, Colombia will host the award, which will feature a keynote from Janette Sadik-Khan, Commissioner of the New York City Department of Transportation.

Join us in DC on January, 15th, 2013
6:00 PM Cocktail Reception
6:30 PM Awards Ceremony

Kalorama Ballroom, The Churchill Hotel
1914 Connecticut Avenue, NW, Washington, DC

Free, but you must RSVP by January 10 to:

In the coming weeks we’ll post more details about exciting work our STA finalist cities have accomplished in 2012. Watch this space for more!


Sign up for updates on our projects, events and publications.

Send this to a friend